Dodransbicentennial anniversary for 12-island diocese

by Gavin Drake


Source: Anglican Communion News Service

A year of celebrations marking the 175th anniversary of the West Indies’ Diocese of the North Eastern Caribbean and Aruba (DNECA) was launched on Sunday. The DNECA was under the jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury when it was formed in 1842. It was disestablished in 1869 and gained its “independence” when the Anglican Province of the West Indies was formed in 1883. Today the diocese serves the 12 islands of Anguilla, Antigua, Aruba, Barbuda, Dominica, Montserrat, Nevis, Saba, St Barths, St Eustatius, St Kitts, and St Maarten.

Read in full at (...)

Latest News List >>